Help a newbie buy a lens

redu

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am a beginner into the technical side of photography and I have been having trouble figuring out which lens to buy, so I found this forum I thought there might be someone here who can help.

I have a Canon 400D and a Canon EF-S 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 and I am looking for a wide-angle lens with a large aperture. I need something around 20mm, but I am getting confused about the whole EF/EF-S thing.

Is 18-55mm on the EF-S the same as on a EF lens or are the numbers adjusted to the smaller sensor, so that it appear as 18-55mm would on a EF, or is it just the mount that is the only difference between Ef and EF-S?

So to get a circa 20mm on the 400D, what lens should I buy, considering I need an aperture of F1.4 or F1.8?

I have been thinking about the Sigma 20mm f/1.8 EX DG Aspherical RF, but that won't be a 20mm on the smaller sensor, right?

Thanks in advance, I really hope someone her can help!

Welcome to the forum.

The focal length of a lens is a constant...18mm is always 18mm, it doesn't change from one camera to another. However, the field of view changes if you go from a crop camera (like yours) to a full frame camera.

Now, EF-S lenses have a slightly different mount and a smaller image circle than EF lenses. EF-S lenses are for crop bodies only. EF lenses can be used on either crop or full frame bodies.

On you camera, the EF-S 18-55mm lens will give you about the same wide view as the EF 17-40mm F4 lens. The 20mm lens won't be as wide.

If you want a wider angle of view on your camera, you need to look at something like the EF-S 10-22mm. Another option is the Sigma 10-20mm. If you really need a wide aperture, then the Tonkina 11-16mm F2.8 is an option.

Do you really need F2.8 on such a wide lens though?

If you are looking for something wide, you can check the Sigma 10-20.

Do you really need F2.8 on such a wide lens though?
I dont know much, but why wouldn't I need a big aperture on a wide angle lens?