Help editing city landscape please!

echoyjeff222

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all,

I just processed the first of my photos from yesterday's trip. I am pretty confused about which processing I like. I posted three below: one is the original, unedited, pne is the b&w conversion, and one is the "blue" tinge that I tried for a futuristic look. I like color because of the two different light trail colors, but I really like the blue for some reason as well .. I was hoping for some feedback, since this is one of the few times I've ever done a b&w conversion in photoshop/lightroom. I was hoping to bring out the s curves really nicely and darken the other parts. I wasn't sure how much to darken the other parts, though.

Thanks a bunch!

Also, if anyone wants to play around with this file, I would be happy to send it over. I am not a pro at all in PP, so I would love to learn! Just let me know what you did, so I can learn!

Original by .Jeffrey L., on Flickr

B&w Conversion by .Jeffrey L., on Flickr

Blue Edit by .Jeffrey L., on Flickr

I think this image is quite terrific if you pull back the highlights so everything doesn't look so glare-y and fuzzy.

This has to be done on the raw file to pull the highlights into the dynamic range of the jpegs.

_MG_6149lllll.jpg

photoshop god ... how did you do that? :eek:

Can you send me the workflow so I can know how to do this in the future? I must either be using the wrong functions or I just haven't done enough photoshop.

EDIT: Actually before you do that, let me play around and see if I can edit it as you did ...

Last edited:
this is totally easy.
It's just recognizing where changes make a difference.
What I thought was missing was that with the headlights and bright windows so fuzzy and blurry, there was no real impact from the snake of the headlights.