How do you take better b&w portraits like these?

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by extraordinabrian, Dec 20, 2005.

1. extraordinabrian

extraordinabrian TPF Noob!

Hi, I'm sorry if I sound like a moron, but I'm a newbie to photography, and I need someone with some knowledge. I've using my nikon digital camera to take b&w portraits/headshots and I've been a lot of trouble with lighting and such. If I use flash then the photos are all totally washed out but if I don't, the photos don't show enough detail and contrast...

here is a photo I took without flash and natural lighting but I had to do a ridiculous amount of photoshopping to get more contrast and sharpness and it's still not what I want:

[​IMG]

I want something more like these pictures:
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

(the photo on the right is courtesy of America's Next Top Model and on the left is from a modelling agency)

can anyone give me any tips on how to take portraits more like this? or is it just because of all the professional equipment? If someone could lend their expertise, I'd be really grateful!

2. Dave_D

Dave_D TPF Noob!

Don't feel like a moron at all for these questions. Everyone has to start somewhere. The portrait of the girl is a lighting pattern that gives a shadow cast known as a modified loop. it can be done several different ways. The other portrait is hard to tell with the crop the way it is. The subject is underlit by means of a light or a reflector as there is no shadow under the nose. You can achieve similar results with your fash extended off of your camera with a remote cord or what have you and a reflector. My advice would be to get a book or take a class if you are very interested on the subject of studio portraiture. You never know where it could lead you down the road in photography.

3. markc

markc TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    The eyes tell all.