Is there something wrong with my camera? Please help

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by exgrafix, Jan 20, 2008.

  1. exgrafix

    exgrafix TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently bought a Nikon Coolpix L15 , the camera is a starter model with a resolution of 8 MP , 1000 ISO , 3x Optical zoom , and as far as I know the lenses are 5.7 - 17.1 mm. I don`t know much about cameras but I will just go to the subject. All my images come out blurry or very low quality. I have to mention i never had a digital before but I know how to use all the functions of the camera. Below I will post 8 photos taken in normal lightning conditions at home , with resolutions from 3 MP to 8 MP, no flash or any other setting. Please tell me if the pictures are normal for this camera. I am posting this because I have noticed a foggy dot inside the lenses. Please post any opinion. Please zoom on them to see the actual resolution. Thank you.

    IMAGE 1

    IMAGE 2
    IMAGE 3
    IMAGE 4
    IMAGE 5
    IMAGE 6
    IMAGE 7 Here I used the zoom to close up
    IMAGE 8
     
  2. Gawonii

    Gawonii TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I think the biggest problem here is camera shake. Try taking some pictures without physically holding the camera and you should get sharper shots.
     
  3. julie32

    julie32 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York City
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hey there,
    i'm sure your camera is perfectly fine if it's new. It does look like a bit of camera shake, even though you think you might be still, odds are...you're not. Even the smallest amount of movement will create images like this.

    If you use your flash, you'll notice a HUGE difference. Looks like your shutterspeed was too slow. Do you have the option of shooting in manual mode on your camera? Were you shooting in automatic mode?

    Also, give yourself a break here. You're new at this and it just takes some time and practice.
     
  4. julie32

    julie32 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York City
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    it looks like your ISO is too high, that's why you're getting all of that graininess. Are you able to tell which ISO you shot these at?
     
  5. adolan20

    adolan20 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    The first shot had an iso of around 700, which for that light wasn't necessary IMO, try shooting with a lower iso of 400 or less. Also, the shutter speed is too slow(around 1/8th of a second) on the first picture, which unfortunately picks up any camera shake.
     
  6. julie32

    julie32 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York City
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Yeah, I just checked some of the other shots too, and I see 800 ISO. OP if you're still there, lower your ISO.
     
  7. adolan20

    adolan20 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    The second one is even worse @ ISO 800 and a shutter speed of 1/5th of a second :(. That's definitely the culprit. It also says you're shooting in program mode, try just auto setting for now. The metering is set to pattern as well.
     
  8. trapspeed

    trapspeed TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Higher ISO causes the grainy looking pictures but is good for low light shots.
     
  9. HighLife

    HighLife TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Coral Springs, FL
    just curious...are you holding the shutter button half way and then pressing the button fully to capture your shot? Also, turn your ISO down. Are you shooting in auto mod and its auto setting your ISO to 1000?
     
  10. exgrafix

    exgrafix TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for all your replies. Yes I am shooting in auto mode, and I think I cannot set the ISO at all , it is automatic. I have read many posts about the ISO and I understand it is very important , but what can I do if I cannot set it? I will try more shooting tomorrow at least I know the camera is okey, it`s brand new hope I don`t have to get it back to the store. The shutter speed I think it is also automatic , I will have to read the whole manual and practice a little more. If anyone knows if I can set the ISO and Shutter speed please let me know how, also how can I see the info of the file (ISO etc..)

    HighLife I am keeping the shutter button half way down before I capture the photo , I read the manual and it sais this way it focuses best the shoot.

    Thank you all
     
  11. adolan20

    adolan20 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I read that you cannot manually set ISO and shutter speed, but you can make sure the flash is on and/or shoot in places with better light so the metering doesn't think it is too dark and bump up the ISO. What I do to view the info on a picture is save it to some place on my computer, right click it, go to properties, and all the information is there. I'm sure there is a better way but that's how I do it.
     
  12. Gawonii

    Gawonii TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    If you don't already use the Mozilla Firefox browser I would strongly suggest it. There is a plug in for the browser that allows you to view the exif data and a recent update that also lets you enlarge the picture in another window also.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

is there something wrong with my camera