Lens choice?

bonnieml

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I need some guidance and perhaps assurance that yes, this is good or no, not a good way to go. First, let me thank all the kind,patient and passionate photographers who lend their expertise here. I have been reading many posts learning. I am a nurse who needed a new passion in my life, a creative one. Photography has been in my heart a long time.Time to let it out. Well onto the questions.
I recently purchased a Canon EOS 40D. I love it but realize the kit lens has its limitations(28-135) The 3 lenses that I am looking at are:
Canon EF 50 F/1.4 and either the Canon EF 17-40 f/4 L or Canon EF 16-35 F/2.8L. Any better ideas?
What do I enjoy shooting? Inside/outside group or single of my family/grandbabies, hiking,travel,landscapes , street/candid.
I realize the expense....it's ok. Unfortunately nursing always has "customers" Again thank you for your help and patience. Any other advice or comments are welcome. Bonnie

I think if you get the 50mm and either the 17-40 or the 16-35 (depending on the budget and how much weight you are willing to carry), then you will be well prepared for landscape and interior shots.

you do not have an ultrawide angle then, but unless you really feel you need 12mm or less, you should be happy with 16 or 17.

the setup will lack a bit on the long end, I personally would get a 300mm prime or something similar for wildlife and sports and also for street photography if you are after faces.

I would maybe rent each lens and see which fits best into your photographic style. Investing a few dollars before you spend a lot might not be a bad idea. As far as grandbaby shooting, when I shoot kids a lot of time I use my 70-200 2.8L lets you be unobtrusive and really get right in there with them. And when they don't think they are being watched is when their personalties really come out.