Looking to upgrade my camera

Rachel1786

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everyone, I'm new here and was wondering if anyone could give me advice on upgrading my camera. I currently have the canon rebel XTI, as much as I love it, it's outdated and I'd really like to upgrade to something that also takes video. I'm an amateur photographer, I do a lot of shooting at horse shows(lots of action shots!), I also take a lot of pet photos(I work at a dog boarding kennel and I'm also a groomer so I take lots of photos of clients) and some nature as well. I would like to go pro, but I have too much on my plate right now to do so. I've had friends offer to pay me for photos I've taken of them at horse shows, but I always decline feeling they are not good enough to charge for.
I just got the latest B&H catalog in the mail, and my SO(he got me my xti for valentines day almost 6 years ago) offered to buy me a new camera for Christmas. I would like to try to keep it under $500(only need the body, have tons of lenses) so far I'm looking at either the T3I, SL1 or T5I, but I might be able to convince him to get the EOS 60D if I can find a really good price and I can convince him it's really worth the extra price.
I would like a camera that does better in low light conditions then my current camera, currently I can barley use 800ISO without there being a ton of noise, forgot about using 1600 :confused:.

Well that's about all I can think of right now, I appreciate all the help and I'm looking forward to getting to know everyone on here!

Welcome to the site. For $500 or under you probably aren't going to get anything that handles low light. The 60D is the best of the ones you listed at low light situations. You say that you have a lot of glass, but are they fast glass? That will be another part of how well the low light is handled too. For low light, I wouldn't really go less than the 7D or the 70D.