My First Nightshots:
URL]

Ithaca_Alleyway___BW_by_sideways_8.jpg

URL]

URL]

Cornell_Clock_Tower___BW_by_sideways_8.jpg

URL]

URL]

I don't wanna say nothing bad about them.. but they just don't look that great to me. and the B/W pics gotta go.

awesome..thanks for informing me i just wasted my night LOL

Next time, make that nice area of cars the focus of the picture, who cares about the buildings?

The only thing that's really staring me in the face is the intensity of those lights. Maybe some kind of filter could help out with that(im pretty unfamiliar with what exactly, except a polarizer). Could also test out different fstops to see how you can change the look of them.

As far as wasting your night.. are you kidding? You're gonna have a lot of nights where you don't get exactly what you want. If you learned anything about shutter speeds, aperture, ISO, focal lengths, composition or anything else you'll be fine. practice practice. I'm completely new to this stuff (about a month) but I try and take the best of what I learned that night(or day).

Having said all that, I really like the last 2. The framing could be shifted either up or down to get more of either the ground or sky so you have more of a subject though (referring to last one). I think right now the subject isn't very obvious, whether you want the focus to be the ground or sky or whatev. Your shots have a lot of good things about them. I don't see why all the dislike. In some of the other ones I'm only not a huge fan just because it's not totally clear what the subject is, again. I've been struggling with the whole "why" aspect of my shots.

I'm trying to force myself to figure out the reason behind the shot before I think about taking it. "what makes this interesting to look at? if someone walked up to me while i was taking it and asked what the photo was of, what would i say?" "uhh.. an alley, i guess."(that happened to me)