New to DSLR

Celestrian

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi.

I'm new to DSLR and photography in general, but I've thought about getting into it for a while now, and I think it's time I did so.

A few weeks back I bought a D3100 with a regular 18-55 lens, but I returned it because I thought I might as well buy a bundle with a cooler lens. Didn't notice too much wrong with the camera as such, although I found it a bit annoying to have to fumble into the menus to try various settings. As I'm a newbie, I have to try out some settings to learn and see if I can see much difference. (I have read a bit about stuff, not nearly enough, but at least enough to know some of it in theory, have to learn the practical though).

I think I will find photography a fun hobby, but since I'm not sure, I don't want to spend a ton of money on it yet. But if I will become hooked, it's nice to get into an ok system I suppose, and to get a camera that can help me grow. :)

Don't think I should set a definite limit on how much I'd like to spend and since I'm in Norway, I am not sure the prices would compare completely anyway. :)

I think it's likely that I'm going to take most pictures outside and of nature, so I think it's important to have a camera that does decently when it's cloudy, dusk/dawn and the light isn't perfect. To get some nice colours even then. Since I'd like to take animal pics, I would also need to be able to take pics of fast movement without it becoming blurry. That also requires not too slow AF I suppose. But since I'm quite new, I don't have to fix all settings myself, at least not until I get more experienced, so some point-and-shoot abilities would be nice.

As I said, I think the D3100 w/18-55 was too boring a bundle, and want another one. I guess the D3100 is an ok enough camera, I did get some nice pics out of it after all, but I think I also can afford to spend a bit more on a camera.