Nikon D50 Memory Cards

Discussion in 'Digital Discussion & Q&A' started by dylan.shantel, Jan 27, 2011.

  1. dylan.shantel
    Offline

    dylan.shantel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mackay, QLD Australia
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    hey all newbie here, ok i have a Nikon D50 and i bought a couple new memory cards for it, when to put them in but they are not formatted to the camera, its weird because when i first got it i chucked a couple old ones in it and they worked perfect?
  2. Trever1t
    Offline

    Trever1t New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    7,871
    Likes Received:
    1,717
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +1,717 / 0
    Sorry, i don't understand. Can't you just format the new cards in the camera?
  3. Ken Rockwell Fan
    Offline

    Ken Rockwell Fan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    GA
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Use the format setting in the D50's menu to reformat the cards.
  4. dylan.shantel
    Offline

    dylan.shantel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mackay, QLD Australia
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    tried that and they still wont work, im using the same brand as the old ones aswell
  5. KmH
    Offline

    KmH Helping photographers learn to fish

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,059
    Likes Received:
    4,069
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Iowa
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +4,077 / 1
    I'd bet the cards have to much memory capacity for the D50 to handle.

    How much memory was each of the old cards, and how much memory is each new card?
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2011
  6. Trever1t
    Offline

    Trever1t New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    7,871
    Likes Received:
    1,717
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +1,717 / 0
    of course. Very logical answer!
  7. thomas30
    Offline

    thomas30 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Try to format it in another camera and use it in Nikon D50 camera. If you are unable to use it in Nikon D50 then the card might be incompatible with your camera.

    You can go through the manual of camera.
  8. Dao
    Offline

    Dao Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    5,970
    Likes Received:
    350
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +350 / 0
    Did you buy the SDHC cards instead of SD cards?
  9. KmH
    Offline

    KmH Helping photographers learn to fish

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,059
    Likes Received:
    4,069
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Iowa
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +4,077 / 1
    Word. ↑

Share This Page