Non-Subscription Alternative to Photoshop Elements?

William Baroo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I decided to start taking photos again, and now I need to edit them. I have been using Befunky.com for a long time for things like cropping, but now I want to be able to do a little more. Years ago, I liked Photoshop Elements, but reviewers say the current version does very little and serves as a way to drive you to subscribing to something more expensive.

Is there a better alternative for a hobbyist who has zero interest in subscriptions and clouds? I want to be able to crop, adjust lighting and contrast, increase and decrease saturation, and so on. Nothing really complicated.

I don't want a giant learning curve. I don't want to install Linux or learn how to operate programs from the keyboard or anything weird like that. I don't work from a phone or tablet, either.

I have been using Photoshop Elements for many years with no problems...

Agree. I use Elements+Nik plug-ins on my travel laptop.No regrets or complaints. Just be aware there are piles of online tutorials showing how to get the most from the program.

The problem is that your versions of Elements are no longer available. Now you have to subscribe and pay a fortune.

Think you need to actually read about the 2023 version--as always no subscription...
Okay, I went back to look this over, and it looks like I made an assumption. I figured that if you were getting good performance from Photoshop Elements, you were using an earlier version, because people say Elements 2023 is stripped-down and not very good compared to earlier versions of the same program. So you're using Elements 2023 and you're happy with it?

Jeff said he had been using it for "many years," so I assumed he was not using the current version.

"...because people say Elements 2023 is stripped-down and not very good compared to earlier versions of the same program."