One person to do Senior Portraits for ENTIRE SCHOOL! HELP!

wildmaven

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
wildmaven.org
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I live in a small town and there are no photographers in the area. The seniors at our local high school have to drive 1 1/2 hours one way to get their photos taken. The high school has approached me to do the Senior Portraits. I am a nature photographer, though I have done one wedding. The money would be nice, but the thought of doing 100 senior pictures by myself, with only the weekend to do it in, sounds impossible (I have a full time job). Plus, I would need to purchase lighting and background equipment. I do have retail space in which to do the indoor photography, and a nice nature area behind it, I'm just wondering about the logistics of this monster!

Any help, advice, cookies, strong shoulders would be appreciated.

Marian

This might be a case of biting off WAY more than you can chew. 100 in a weekend just isn't realistic, if you want to have any quality at all.

Man what luck!!! you should be happy to be the only game in town and take advantage of this great opportunity to start hopefully a good relationship with these people as future clients you know weddings, family portraits and, baby shots good luck hope you do well.

Why do you have to do them all in one weekend? Can't you spread them out over the next month or so? For me, one senior session takes about 1.5-2 hours of time. (Just to shoot, add about 5 hours or so for post processing....but I'm a little slow at that).

Where are you located??? Maybe someone can give you a hand !!!

Marian........your profile and your post, do not give any details regarding conditions and camera gear.

If you are doing just basic 'head shots' for the yearbook kind of thing, you can probably pull it off.

A bit rough but....get a dry marker slate, write the name in LARGE letters, do a 'mug shot' ala arrest photo. Then pose them and shoot.