Over exposed when shooting at f1.8

Discussion in 'Photographic Discussions' started by Pauly, Aug 3, 2008.

  1. Pauly

    Pauly TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Ontario
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I have a Canon 50mm 1.8, I was shooting outside yesterday and noticed whenever I put it on aperture mode and selected f1.8 it was always over exposed. My exposure settings were the same as on Program mode.
     
  2. Alex_B

    Alex_B No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    14,491
    Likes Received:
    206
    Location:
    Europe 67.51°N
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    did you set exposure compensation to some + value?

    what was your ISO and shutter speed? maybe it was very bright and your ISO so high that the shutter could not be fast enough to allow for a correct exposure.
     
  3. Overread

    Overread has a hat around here somewhere Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    23,099
    Likes Received:
    3,765
    Location:
    UK - England
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I would think like Alex - either your ISO is up or your expsure meter is set high - that would mean you would get a slower shutter speed to get more light into the camera

    (generally though I tend to get best expsures during the day on setting the exposure meter to a negative value - sometimes down as far as -1).
     
  4. Pauly

    Pauly TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Ontario
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    ISO was set to 100. Exposure was 0. It could have been the shutter that was staying opened for too long also. I will try to set it to manual mode and open the shutte for 1/200 next time.
     
  5. K_Pugh

    K_Pugh No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Scotland
    at day at F1.8 and ISO100 i wouldn't be surprised if you needed a shutter speed of 1/2000 - 1/4000 or higher even.. perhaps it was just too bright?

    If you still have some of the shots i'd check the EXIF data for the shutter speed, you might find it's at its limit, whatever that may be (1/4000 or something)
     
  6. prodigy2k7

    prodigy2k7 No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    California, USA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Ya, the settings you change stick to the program mode you are using, so if u set ISO 400 on Tv and go to Av, set your ISO to 100 then switch back to Tv, it will be 400 again. Unless im mistaken?
     
  7. Josh66

    Josh66 Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    1,236
    Location:
    Cedar Hill, Texas
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Does the metering mode stay the same when you switch from Program to Aperture Priority?
     
  8. prodigy2k7

    prodigy2k7 No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    California, USA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    The aperture you last set while in aperture priority is what will be used when you use it again.
     
  9. THORHAMMER

    THORHAMMER TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,789
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    You might have changed to center weighted metering on accident.
     
  10. prodigy2k7

    prodigy2k7 No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    California, USA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Ya, make sure you check all your settings...
     
  11. Josh66

    Josh66 Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    1,236
    Location:
    Cedar Hill, Texas
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Yeah, but what about metering? Some cameras default to different metering modes on different shooting modes.
     
  12. Garbz

    Garbz No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    9,713
    Likes Received:
    203
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    They what? I would have thought the metering mode is independently selectable. Even so switching between matrix (evaluative) and centre weighted isn't likely to change the exposure that much. Spot metering I could understand, but any camera with that ability would definitely have a separate selector for the metering method independent of the shooting mode.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
f1.8 overexposed
,

how to not overexpose shooting at f1.4

,
my 35mm f1.8 overexposure
,
over exposure shooting at f1.4
,
shooting f1.8
,
shooting overexposed