Photographic competitions

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi All,

I am very new to entering photographic competitions but I am beginning to notice a few basics of how the images are ranked.

Square crop - good
Landscape - bad
Panoramic (stitch or very wide angle) - Affront to photography
Macro - Evil
Black and White - good
Dull Black and white with little or no contrast - Very Good
Colourful - bad
Film grain (Simulated or real) - very good
HDR - Work of the devil
Post processing in general = Bad photographer

I could go on.......

So I have hatched a wee plan just to see what happens. I created a load of the most bland, lifeless, pointless, and downright boring images to enter into competitions::

_JBO1633.jpg

_JBO1635 (1).jpg

_JBO1792.jpg

_JBO1970.jpg

_JBO2596.jpg

JBO_sq_01.jpg

The images above are just a few of the examples I created.

I have added or left in some horrible composition or editing errors which allows the judge to give some artistic interpretation. I will give the image a pretentious title in line with the rules of that particular competition.

I will let you all know how I get on.

CHEERS
JBO

Attachments

• _JBO1633.jpg
    _JBO1633.jpg
    75.6 KB · Views: 4
I can smell an award getting close! Love this. 😃

It's been clear to me that the vast majority are attracted to highly saturated garbage, especially in landscape. If only I was happy to do that because processing would be so much easier and stress free, just pull the saturation slider as well as the clarity and sharpness then the image is complete..! 😬

I can smell an award getting close! Love this. 😃

It's been clear to me that the vast majority are attracted to highly saturated garbage, especially in landscape. If only I was happy to do that because processing would be so much easier and stress free, just pull the saturation slider as well as the clarity and sharpness then the image is complete..! 😬