Photographing dyed fabric

saddened_dye

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi,

I am a graduate student looking to improve the documentation of my art work.

I am wondering if anyone has any tips on photographing dyed fabrics? My work is comprised of silk paintings (on Habotai) done with silk dyes, linen and cotton paintings done with fiber reactive dyes, and dye paintings + prints on terrycloth (towel) done with fiber-reactive dyes.

It feels like each fabric would pose a particular problem, such as the luster of the silk or the texture of the terrycloth.

I’m aiming for photographs that best document the color and texture of the fabrics I’ve painted. Mainly wondering about lighting.

How big are the pieces?

Anywhere from 8” x 11” to 36” x 36

Your best bet would be a copy stand either purchased or DIY that holds the camera perpendicular to the print and two lights, one on each side, with a 35mm macro lens.
download.jpeg

Hi,

I am a graduate student looking to improve the documentation of my art work.

I am wondering if anyone has any tips on photographing dyed fabrics? My work is comprised of silk paintings (on Habotai) done with silk dyes, linen and cotton paintings done with fiber reactive dyes, and dye paintings + prints on terrycloth (towel) done with fiber-reactive dyes.

It feels like each fabric would pose a particular problem, such as the luster of the silk or the texture of the terrycloth.

I’m aiming for photographs that best document the color and texture of the fabrics I’ve painted. Mainly wondering about lighting.