Photomatix / HDR basic question

Jon_Are

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am brand new to using Photomatix (as you'll be able to tell from this question :D )

When creating an HDR, or performing exposure blending, I understand that you start with three exposures of the same image.

I shoot my important stuff in RAW. Do I bring the three RAW images into Photomatix? Or do I first convert them to JPGs or TIFFs?

If I convert them first, do I do any sort of processing of the RAW image before sending it into Photomatix?

Or, do HDR folks just shoot their three exposures in JPG and not mess with RAW.

Thanks,

Jon

You have to convert them first, Photomatrix doesn't recognize RAW files.

I always shoot in RAW, that gives me the option (later) to create different exposures if I choose to do so.

Also, don't limit yourself to 3 images - try 5 or even more for a greater effect. There's really no set way to do it, just play around until it looks good to you.

Paintshop Pro Photo Editor X2 also does HDR conversion.

If you get the Ultimate version, You can do HDR with RAW images.

try 5 or even more for a greater effect.

How is this done when my Nikon (and most other cameras) only bracket maximum three exposures?

try 5 or even more for a greater effect.

How is this done when my Nikon (and most other cameras) only bracket maximum three exposures?

Put the camera in completely manual mode and adjust the shutter speed for each shot.

Or buy a Sony camera that can do up to 5 shots .7 EV's apart, or 3 shots 2 EV's (as well as a wide range less than that).

Doesn't say on your profile your camera.

On my D90 when I do want 5 images for bracketing.

I set my bracketing for EV1 (Front finger wheel). Take a series of 3 (EV0, EV+1, EV-1). Then I change to EV2 (EV0, EV+2, EV-2) and take 3 more images. I take the better of the two EV0 images and use the two groups for my HDR work.