Portrait setup in basement?

rollerbones

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I just purchased a 50d a few months ago and now thinking of building a simple portrait setup in my basement. (2 daughters to take pics of) :D

My basement has 9' ceilings and are unfinished. I will actually be using a section under a morning room above which will be aprox. 15' x 20' x 9'

Money is not really an issue but I have a few questions...Should I leave the walls the poured cement gray color or paint then darker? Ceiling?
As for lighting, I am finding all sorts of different setup's online but not sure what i should start off with..

Thanks for any direction.

I'm no professional, but I'd say you're putting too much effort into it. All you need to take a portrait is the right background, which you can do with a couple backdrops. Painting the poured cement will never yield the same result because it's porous and that texture will come through in the picture.

You can take perfectly fine portraits with a big clean sheet of white paper. Of course, paper gets dirty, trampled and torn easily, so like I said above if you get a few simple backdrops I think you'll be way ahead of trying to paint/build anything in your basement. As for lighting, someone can probably advise you better than I - but knowing how to light evenly is most important.

Thanks for the reply. I see where you are coming from and I will just start off a little slower. I guess I need to find out about lighting next.

Thanks again.

Thanks for the reply. I see where you are coming from and I will just start off a little slower. I guess I need to find out about lighting next.

Thanks again.

One thing you could do if you just want to build something is build a lightbox. Basically a lightbox is just a structure that holds a white surface with no corners so that you can take a full picture of something (from the ground up) without showing any texture in the background.