Powershot G7 Accessory choices.

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by laguano, May 29, 2007.

1. laguano

laguano TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I have been looking for a lens and a hotshoe for the Canon G7, i plan to take them to a concert, (i am being offered a press pass) what would you suggest i buy? Due to the fact this is my first time acquiring these accessories :p

EDIT:
    Will the 18-55 Lens be compatible with the G7?

2. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Welcome to the forum.

The G7 has a built-in lens...and therefore, you can't buy another lens to put on it. You can buy filters or 'adaptors' but those really are not the best quality.

The 18-55 lens is compatible with the EOS digital SLR cameras.

3. usayit

usayit No longer a newbie, moving up!

North New Jersey, United States of America
    Photos OK to edit
    Regarding the "hotshoe".

I assume you are asking about flash compatibility. To my knowledge all EX line of flashes from Canon are compatible. My EOS 550EX works just fine (actually amazingly well as a bounce) with my G5. If you are planning to do extensive flash photography, I highly recommend getting an external flash. The internal flash drains the internal battery quickly and does not provide a nice result. Since the G7's battery is smaller than previous G-series cameras, I would imagine that an external flash is almost a necessity when shooting indoors.

Used: 420EX and its larger brother the 550EX
    New: 480EX and its larger brother the 580EX.

4. laguano

laguano TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Well, i did seem to find that these lenses where for the G7:

[ame="http://www.amazon.com/Canon-TC-DC58C-Converter-Digital-Camera/dp/B000JILHF0/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1/105-9344137-9969242?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1180476439&sr=8-1"]Teleconverter lens[/ame]