Question for Photoshop 7 guru

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by ksmattfish, Sep 16, 2005.

  1. ksmattfish

    ksmattfish Now 100% DC - not as cool as I once was, but still

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    7,021
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Lawrence, KS
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I'm batch automating the sharpening of about 400 files. It opens the file, runs my sharpening action, and then saves the file. normally I'm working with tiff files, and have no problem. Tonight I am working with jpegs, and everytime the file goes to save, at the end of the action, the jpeg quality options box pops up, and I have to click the mouse or enter button. How do I get it to save without me clicking the button?
     
  2. hobbes28

    hobbes28 Incredible Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,807
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    at work...
    You have to make a new action using jpegs. That way it will include it in your automated steps.
     
  3. ksmattfish

    ksmattfish Now 100% DC - not as cool as I once was, but still

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    7,021
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Lawrence, KS
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Cool! Thanks! I knew it had to be simple. :) I was about 50 files into it, and wasn't looking forward to the next 350 clicks.
     
  4. hobbes28

    hobbes28 Incredible Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,807
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    at work...
    I don't blame you. Batch automation is the coolest thing ever.
     
  5. ksmattfish

    ksmattfish Now 100% DC - not as cool as I once was, but still

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    7,021
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Lawrence, KS
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Well, heck! It's still not working.
     
  6. hobbes28

    hobbes28 Incredible Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,807
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    at work...
    Did you do a new action from scratch or just edit the one that was already there?
     
  7. ksmattfish

    ksmattfish Now 100% DC - not as cool as I once was, but still

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    7,021
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Lawrence, KS
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I did a new action: opened a jpeg, started recording the action (lab color, lightness channel, USM, RGB), and stopped recording the action. Then I set automation to "save and close".

    Could it have something to do with the fact that I'm using a non-Adobe Raw converter (converted from raw to jpeg at max quality)? Most of these files have never been opened in Adobe, although the file browser, etc... has no problems with them. I don't have this problem when working and saving as a tiff.
     
  8. hobbes28

    hobbes28 Incredible Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,807
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    at work...
    If you open the jpeg and just make changes in it, you can just save it as the jpeg without having to adjust the compression I think. You just have to start the action then open, do adjustments, then save (not save as) then if it asks for compression, pick it, click okay, then stop the recording. Try this in a little sample folder first to make sure it doesn't start renaming all your files to the same name, but I'm pretty sure that's the way to do it.
     
  9. Digital Matt

    Digital Matt alter ego: Analog Matt

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,346
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    You are always going to be asked for jpg quality, the first time you save a jpg. What you can do is, set a book on the enter key of your keyboard. (The bottom right num pad one) and it will in effect press ok for you everytime the box pops up.

    This is a stupid glitch in photoshop that Adobe never addressed.
     
  10. ksmattfish

    ksmattfish Now 100% DC - not as cool as I once was, but still

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    7,021
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Lawrence, KS
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Well, how I finally solved it was to ditch the jpegs, go back and have the raw converter turn them into tiffs, do my editing, sharpening, etc..., and then I was able to make a batch automation that converts the tiff into a jpg. It's probably better workflow anyway to stick with the tiff as long as possible. I don't know why, but it appears that I can record the jpg quality when I "save as", just not when I "save". :shrug:
     
  11. GerryDavid

    GerryDavid No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Virginia
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I think you could have solved this by adding the save as to the action. Then checked something else in the batch options. But since you worked around it, nevermind, hehe.
     

Share This Page