RAW Image editing Application

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by bogleric, Jun 26, 2005.

  1. bogleric

    bogleric TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Is there a RAW image editor that is really preferred?? I have been using PhotoShop CS2 that comes with their bridge application that is supposed to allow previews of RAW images. I can open RAW images, but cannot get any previews. THis is quite annoying since I don't know which image I want to edit without opening many of them.

    I tried using Canon Digital Photo Pro that comes with the camera, however so many options were missing.

    SUggestions??
     
  2. Digital Matt

    Digital Matt alter ego: Analog Matt

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,346
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
  3. John E.

    John E. TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,221
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Living in Kootney time
  4. bogleric

    bogleric TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    thanks.. I will have to check those out.
     
  5. Canoncan

    Canoncan TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,697
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Whitby,Ontario,Canada.
    Raw Shooters Esentials by Pixmantec. Best one out there bar none!!!
     
  6. Meysha

    Meysha still being picky Vicky

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    58
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    You know, I've got exactly the same problem but with JPGs and PSD files. I use PS CS (haven't installed 2 yet) and none of the preview thumbnails work in my windows folders. If I use the browser in PS though it works (i think, from memory). I've made sure the setting is turned on in the program too... I'm thinking it's just a bug and hopefully it'll go in version 2.

    Edit: oops just saw you are using CS2... ah well. I've got no idea. Good luck with the other programs!
     
  7. SLOShooter

    SLOShooter TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you installed the lastest RAW plugin from the Adobe site? Check the list of supported cameras too, maybe yours is not on it.
     
  8. bogleric

    bogleric TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    I installed the latest update and it specifically lists my camera in the supported list.
     
  9. SLOShooter

    SLOShooter TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got nothing...
     
  10. bogleric

    bogleric TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Just for kicks I redownloaded the Camera Raw plugin which was the same file size and date as the one I downloaded before (3.1, etc) and now it all works. Must have been a bad download.
     
  11. SLOShooter

    SLOShooter TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    0
    Congrats!
     
  12. voodoocat

    voodoocat ))<>(( Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5,277
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Gilbert, AZ
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I really like the Photoshop RAW editor. Though, since I reformated my computer, CS runs like crap if the file browser is open to a folder with RAW images. :scratch:
     

Share This Page