Real-Estate Photography?

Austin Greene

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Website
www.austingreenephotography.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Long story short: Through some mutual connections, there is a high probability that a local apartment complex will be having me photograph their community/model rooms/etc. I have no experience in real-estate, which is my main concern, but I feel pretty confident regardless. Looking at their current images which were taken by a third-party "professional" some time ago, I see poor use of lighting, at most one flash used, blown highlights, and a bunch of other seemingly careless errors.

I'm confident that I can improve on the images they currently have, which is why I'm going through with it. That said, I thought I'd consult with you all if there are any big "uh ohs" I should watch out for. Any common errors you've noticed folks making that ruin otherwise solid real-estate images? I don't plan on moving into this market, but if they like the images I'll likely end up shooting several of their other communities as well, so it seems like a worth-while networking opportunity.

Best,
Austin

wide angle lens
tripod
high vantage point to shoot from

I have never done this, its just what I have read on the subject so take it or leave it.

Look at A LOT of photographs, good, bad, and excellent so you will know the direction to go.

I know one architectural photographer, and he uses a view camera. Not everyone does, of course, but your wide-angle lenses should be good ones.

Good luck!