Selective Colour - c & c welcome

Lazy Photographer

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
lazyphotographer.ca
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm taking a short photography class and one of our assignments was to create a selective colour (if that's the correct term) shot using Lightroom 3. I'm new to Lightroom 3, but it seems pretty straight forward. Slow as all getout on my machine, unfortunately, and not as user friendly as my 5 yr old ACDSee Photo Manager Pro, but it does have some tools that are pretty cool.

As for the photo, there's a main artery in the east end of Toronto called Lakeshore Blvd and at one intersection a group of people hang out and beg for money from car drivers waiting at the lights. Fortunately I had my camera on the seat beside me. When the guy realized I was taking his photo he raised his hand in a half-assed sort of wave. Really made the shot, in my opinion.

redshirt-EDIT2.jpg

the shot's not very well composed

That photo tells me nothing of the story you conveyed in text.

The selective color does nothing for the shot. There is no mood or feeling to it at all.

p!nK

could've been much better without the truck

Sounds like we have a consensus here. :) Oh well, they all can't be winners, right? As for the truck and the composition, I was sort of stuck in one spot waiting for the light and only had a moment before that lane beside me (the empty one in the photo) was to be filled with more cars stopped at the light too. If I'd had more time I would have waited for that truck to pass -- well, maybe not, I don't know. There was only one moment where the guy waved and it's that odd wave and his stance that attracted me to the shot.

Anyway, I'm sure it all sounds like a bunch of excuses. :) Thanks everyone for your thoughts and criticisms.