slow shutter speed/ over exposed

chrisjones75

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
afternoon team!

i have playing around with light trails, etc, but would really like to get some shots of running water in the daylight, so i slow my shutter speed down, and guess what?! WHITE!

its ok at night, naturally, but i want some day time shots of the sea...

what can i do to slow the shutter speed down and not over expose my shots?!

thanks in advance for anything that works!

chris

would it be too much of a stupid question to ask how?

bearing in mind i'm a total beginner and have had the camera a week... i thought that if you put it in shutter mode, the camera would work out everything else... obviously i'm wrong, but how do i set the shutter speed, using the dial, then adjust the aperture?

would it be too much of a stupid question to ask how?

bearing in mind i'm a total beginner and have had the camera a week... i thought that if you put it in shutter mode, the camera would work out everything else... obviously i'm wrong, but how do i set the shutter speed, using the dial, then adjust the aperture?

That differs a bit among camera models. Did you get a user manual with your camera?

Shutter mode... Do you mean "Shutter Priority" mode?

Also, what is the ISO setting?

i got a book, and have also bought the 'for dummies' guide for my camera, they both tell me how to adjust the shutter speed in "shutter priority" mode, but it seems that that is all i can adjust. i can adjust everything else, aperture etc, but if i adjust the aperture, then i can't adjust the shutter speed...

i think, to be fair, i'm trying to run before i can walk! (i don't know what the ISO setting is as i'm sat at my sofa, not out in the field!)

I'm going to take a punt and say you have a point & shoot camera, rather than a DSLR - that is - you cant swap lenses on & off your camera?