Standard fee to license a photo for print.

kalgra

TPF Supporters
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello all,

Im not sure where to post this question but this seems as good as any. I'll try to keep my question brief. I was recently contacted by a firm wanting to purchase rights to print one of my photos. The summarized email communication is down below. My problem is I have no idea what I should ask or what is fair. Can anyone give me some advice given the information below?

"My name is Andy and I am an art administrator at NINE dot ARTS. We are a curatorial and art advisory firm.

Our client saw your work in the Westminster City Contest and would like to purchase it for their space. They are interested in purchasing artwork from local photographers and printing it on acrylic. Could we please purchase the rights to produce a single print of your image? In order to do so, we will provide you with a single use licence agreement where you and I would sign and agree on a purchase price and agree to access the digital file of the artwork to print a single copy. The image will be printed at 40" x 30".

Please respond with the following:

1. How much time from final approval will you need in order to provide us with the digital file?
2. What is the wholesale price for us to have a licence to reproduce this image one time? *We operate like a gallery in that we pay wholesale, which would be half of the retail price. For example, if you sold us a licence to print your image once for $200 then the retail cost of this image would be $400
"

Sounds like a good opportunity to put your work in front of the curators at Nine dot Arts there in Denver. It would probably be like Getty images, but on a more personal level if you are able to get in direct with them on this project and not be sent to their dotfolio artist site.