tips and tricks.......

KVB1085

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
anyone got any tips or tricks about setting up some in home shoots to practice up?

i work from 9-6... and i don't get home til 7.... so it's pretty much dark outside.. and i'm still learning the camera... i was wondering what people do for practice shots in home? i don't want to just sit in my room and shoot at a wall ya know???? at first i was testing aperatures and w/b by just pointing at a light in my room... but that is freakin boring...

and as far as back grounds go??? carpets and painted walls don't always get the job done... what do you use for temp back drops and what not!?!?!

thanks in advance... i dig reading what you guys/girls with experience say on this forum!

What type of shooting are you interested in? You could shoot apples and oranges i a bowl (stereotypical still life).

You could find a doll or mannequin head and use a lamp to experiment with how different lighting looks on a face. This is one I've been meaning to try.

I totally understand your situation. I'm gonna probably follow some of these suggestions in here too.

I live in a winter clime, so winter nights are not so appealing for photography either. I've had some fun with things like Mike suggested - if i am out at the dollar store and see something cheap (coloured wooden cubes, various wire lengths, kids toys that have shape/texture etc) I pick it up. My last "shoot" was of a small wire man with an orange cube head trying to climb into a glass of sherry. I lit it with LED flashlights and used long exposure times...didn't come out the "perfect", but I did have fun. I also had to drink the Sherry when it was all done or let it go to waste...that was REALLY the hard part :greenpbl:.

Try to think of set-ups beforehand and give yourself a couple of hours. Good luck!