total noob about to jump off a cliff ;)

Shredhead

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
hello,
i'm trying to take product photos, the look kinda discolored and the background is not white.

I have an entry level canon rebel
a sigma 35mm art lens
i have 3 strobe - 2 umbrellas on the side and a big ass box thing on top of product
a light tent

here are couple of pic i took with different light setting, they are 100% stainless steel, so should be silver. i've been trying different settings on the camera, moving the lights, making them brighter and darker all kinds of stuff... feels like i am going in a circle... any tips would be great :)

Attachments

• IMG_4604.jpg
    IMG_4604.jpg
    72.9 KB · Views: 201
  • IMG_4573.jpg
    IMG_4573.jpg
    67.8 KB · Views: 210
my exact setting are

1/200
F8.0
ISO 100
standard 'image effect'
lighting setting - flash
auto correct brightness standard
single shooting spot metering in the center of product is where it is set

If your shooting this in RAW you should be able to adjust the white balance after the shot is taken. In this case it looks like your background (assuming it's supposed to be white) is too blue. So adjust the WB till the background appears white.

You could also set a custom white balance on your camera but of course it would only work well if you did so for a specific lighting setup, so I'd probably start by shooting in RAW and adjusting after the shot was taken.