Want to play with a Slave....

ottor

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Any suggestions for one of the least expensive slave flashes to use with a couple of Cactus Triggers? - I have a Canon XSI and a Promaster 7200 EDF flash and I dont' think that can be used as a slave flash unit ..

tks,

r

The Cactus trigger should work just fine with that camera & flash.

Keep in mind that the flash will have to be controlled manually, and you'll likely need/want to have the camera in manual mode as well.

The Cactus trigger should work just fine with that camera & flash.

Keep in mind that the flash will have to be controlled manually, and you'll likely need/want to have the camera in manual mode as well.

By 'controlled', you mean the flash settings, correct?

Cacti are on the way, and that's good to know cuz I was told that the 'majority' of the Promasters can't be used as slaves .. should open up a whole new area of photography, huh? :mrgreen:

Thanks Mike...

r

By 'controlled', you mean the flash settings, correct?
Yes, you will have to figure out the settings required and adjust them yourself (no auto metering etc)

I was told that the 'majority' of the Promasters can't be used as slaves
I'm guessing that they mean they don't work with Canon's proprietary wireless system. A simple radio trigger just triggers the flash to fire...so it should work.

Does the flash have manual controls? (can the power be adjusted manually?)....some flashes don't have this feature so they will just fire at full power when not on the camera. That's OK, just a little less versatile.