Want to play with a Slave....

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by ottor, Jan 29, 2010.

  1. ottor

    ottor No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    S. Idaho
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Any suggestions for one of the least expensive slave flashes to use with a couple of Cactus Triggers? - I have a Canon XSI and a Promaster 7200 EDF flash and I dont' think that can be used as a slave flash unit ..

    tks,

    r
     
  2. Big Mike

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,818
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    The Cactus trigger should work just fine with that camera & flash.

    Keep in mind that the flash will have to be controlled manually, and you'll likely need/want to have the camera in manual mode as well.
     
  3. ottor

    ottor No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    S. Idaho
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    By 'controlled', you mean the flash settings, correct?

    Cacti are on the way, and that's good to know cuz I was told that the 'majority' of the Promasters can't be used as slaves .. should open up a whole new area of photography, huh? :mrgreen:

    Thanks Mike...

    r
     
  4. Big Mike

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,818
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Yes, you will have to figure out the settings required and adjust them yourself (no auto metering etc)

    I'm guessing that they mean they don't work with Canon's proprietary wireless system. A simple radio trigger just triggers the flash to fire...so it should work.

    Does the flash have manual controls? (can the power be adjusted manually?)....some flashes don't have this feature so they will just fire at full power when not on the camera. That's OK, just a little less versatile.
     
  5. Melesse

    Melesse TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Culpeper, VA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Actually, there are apparently quite a few flashes that don't work with Cactus V4's. I bought a Nissin di466 (I think...might have been the 622) last year. A couple months later I bought the strobist set from MPEX, and discovered that that flash wasn't compatible with the V4s. Apparently it was because the Cactus only triggers through the central contact, and the Nissin flashes trigger through one of the side contacts. I've ended up using that one only as an optical slave.

    I don't know specifically about the Promaster flash though, unfortunately.

    Mel
     
  6. ottor

    ottor No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    S. Idaho
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Yes, this one has settings on the back for adjustment.. It wasn't an expensive one to begin with - I think I paid about $130 for it a while back.. I'll dig up the manual ( I keep everything ) and check out various settings..

    If it works with the triggers, then I've found a relatively inexpensive unit that I can get another one or two later on...

    tks,

    r
     
  7. Sbuxo

    Sbuxo TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    6
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    the title of this thread would probably freak those who don't know about flash slaves, out.
    haha
     
  8. Big Mike

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,818
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    :shock:
    :lol:

    I don't know about the new V4 set, but I've got a couple of the older sets. They do/did work but are not reliable. I ended up going with a set of Cyber Syncs and they have been 100% reliable.
     
  9. ottor

    ottor No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    S. Idaho
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit

    Wellllll, that certainly wasn't my intent ........................... snicker, snicker.. ;) Ya know - the more people you can get to open the post, the more information you receive.. (In theory).. Wonder if I would have rec'd as many hits if I had titled it....

    "Excuse me - I have an inquiry regarding supplimental illumination devices" .. :mrgreen:

    On 2nd thought - THAT would have probably freaked some folks out too..

    r
     
  10. Goontz

    Goontz TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,275
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Austin/Houston, TX
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I have a set of V4's on the way, so I hope to see just how reliable they are. Reviews I've seen on them have been pretty good, but who knows.

    Ottor, if you want a really cheap flash to play with off-camera, check this out: Flickr: Discussing Strobist friendly flash on the cheap - Less than $36 in Strobist.com (originally posted at http://www.thephotoforum.com/forum/...ery/191368-budget-flash-similar-sb-600-a.html ). The Canon ones are still in stock and you can't beat $36 for a flash to play with. They have full manual, zoom, etc.
     
  11. Sbuxo

    Sbuxo TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    6
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Lol. Sorry, just checked up on my recent posts for any replies. And yeah, I think not (another title = same hits).
     
  12. gryphonslair99

    gryphonslair99 Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    11,441
    Likes Received:
    2,100
    Location:
    Wichita, Kansas, USA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    zombie_thread.jpg
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
7200edf slave
,
can a promaster 7200edf be used as an off camera slave flash
,
good slave flash forum cactus
,
how to fire promaster 7200edf for canon off camera
,
melesse culpeper photographer
,
promaster 7200 edf as a slave
,
promaster 7200edf review
,

promaster 7200edf slave

,
promaster flash and strobist and slave
,
using promaster 7200edf as off camera flash