Warm Welcome and Advice..?

R.D.

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello, My name is Ray but people call me RD.

I'm a veteran who has always had a fondness for art and more specifically photography. My wife's grandfather does aerial photography and her uncle has his own company.

Anyway, I recently went from avid lover to beginner, now its almost time for my birthday and I want a professional camera to start playing around with. Many have told me Nikon D40 would be a good place to start but figured I'd take any advice from any pro's out there. the budget is basically up to $600 or so and I do understand the importance of lenses and flashes.

Thank You in advance, if you leave links to recent posts i'll C&C.

Welcome. I'm new, too (to this forum, that is). I don't mean to sound like a downer, but for $600 you're looking at an entry level SLR with a kit lens. There's nothing wrong with that, they're all very capable cameras with great IQ, and the kit lenses are down right decent. The point is, a flash and lenses will have to wait til another day. On the Canon side, you'd be looking at a Rebel XS with 18-55mmIS kit lens for $500, with some money left for memory (I'd suggest two cards at the very least, biggest and fastest your cam will support) and maybe a nice neoprene strap. That's more than enough to get you through the learning curve. For that money, anything on the Nikon side will be equivalent in features and performance. There will be slight differences, but nothing to get hung up about.

would it be a wise investment to put a few hundred more and grab the Canon Rebel T1i?

This will be a heavily attended to hobby and at most amatuer work for friends and associates.. not starting a business.

Also, I plan to purchase the lenses and flashes later as I come across projects and shoots with the need for them.

Thank you subscuck for the input and welcome to the site as well.. I'm on the Illinois side of St. Louis.