What photo editing software to buy

Parkersdad

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I shoot with a Nikon D300 in RAW mode. What software do you guys and gals recommend? I’m not a professional so keep that in mind.

Try the software that came with the camera first. It's free.

I use LightRoom. They have the Photographer bundle at Adobe with LightRoom CC Classic/Photoshop for $10 per month. I also have On1 and with upgrades have probably paid about the same each year as what the Adobe subscription runs for.

You can download the Nikon software. I have the CaptureNX-D and ViewNX programs.

I found Photoshop Elements to be a reasonably priced single cost alternative to paying Adobe monthly for PhotoShop and Lightroom. Easy to use as well since there are Guided, Intermediate and Expert modes.

I suggest Adobe Lightroom. It works splendidly, and is reasonably easy to learn how to use.

You should add Affinity Photo to your list for consideration.

Thanks for all of your replies. I’m either going to look tonight or in the morning and decide what I’m going to buy software wise.

Depends on your intended editing. If you're looking for something to do minor color correction / exposure adjustments and perhaps a bit of retouching skin blemishes and such, Lightroom is far quicker to learn and use and will more than be enough for what you need. If you are planning on doing wild photo composites where you take your child's photo and add him onto the back of King Kong's head sticking out of your backyard pool, then you may want to invest in Photoshop.

Unfortunately, Ps Elements only has 1/2 of the Raw file editing capability/features/functions of Adobe Camera Raw (ACR), included with Adobe's $9.99 a month Photography subscription (Pro grade Photoshop & Lightroom).
ACR is Ps Camera Raw and Lightroom's Develop module.

Note too that Ps Elements has no 16 bit color depth editing capabilities.
Bit Depth