What should I upgrage first? Camera or lens?

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by Destin, Sep 11, 2010.

1. Destin

Destin No longer a newbie, moving up!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I am currently shooting a nikon d40 with a 55-200, 18-55, and 50 1.8, and I mainly shoot high school sports to sell the photos to parents. I also have an sb-600. I pretty much can't stand having low-end gear, but I'm a starving college student so cash is tight. I've been doing pretty good with what I have, but I know my gear is limiting me.

I currently have $800 to spend and I'm not sure if I should spring for a new body (d90), or a sigma 70-200 2.8. My plan is to get one, then use it to earn money to buy the other. Which one should I buy first and why?

I'm leaning towards the lens, just because shooting football with an f5.6 has been (nearly) impossible.

2. Neil S.

Neil S. TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Normally I would say glass.

Thats a pretty old body though.

I recommend everyone step up to 12 MP+ now that it is easy to do so.

3. yepp

yepp TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    i'm sorta in the market to upgrade to a dslr and am waiting to see what the d90 replacement will be like before I decide. I know I'm going with nikon because from the photo's i've seen they show better detail than canon (noticed canon's are brighter normally but it seemed to drown out the detail alittle in the few photo's i looked at). Don't know if you're willing to hold out on not buying the D90 because it's just about out of date in a few months but the choice is yours.