Website
www.stevendavisphoto.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey Guys,

I got this in the mail...

:: WHERE Oahu Summer/Fall 2009

Hi there
We wish to feature your image of Kawaiahao Church in our upcoming WHERE Oahu as spot size in editorial attraction section. Would you please let us know your usage rights. thx

Current issue can be view online at:
Oahu - WhereTraveler

It's a digest size (2.5 x 3 inches) and distributed throughout Oahu quarterly.
Thank you and please reply to my work email below.​

this is the pic... Kawaiahao Church - Honolulu, Oahu, Hawaii (HDR) on Flickr - Photo Sharing!

what should i do? accept? decline? ask for money? how much??? thanks.

Wow, that's great. As a beginner I can't offer real insight, but I would think that having something publish is every photographers dream. If it were me I would get something in writing that they would give me full credit in the article (and a free copy of course :sexywink:) and let them publish away. I'm sure others will have better advice.

Congrats on getting the offer.

In that situation, I would allow them to use the image in exchange for full credit to be given. I would ask what their policy is for giving credit (where, font size, etc.). Having a published picture with credit, to me, is more valuable in the long run than getting a couple hundred bucks now... assuming you get a couple hundred out of the deal vs. botching the whole deal.

Of course this assumes you want to be a professional photographer and you want to eventually sell work to other magazines or as art.

Take my advice with a grain of salt, I've never had an image published and probably never will.

It has been quite a few years since I've sold anything to the media so hopefully someone else can give you an idea of what to charge. If not go to your library and check out a Photography Market book. They list fees based on usage and type of publication.