What would you do?

intensechase

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm a TPF noob... Here's a shout out to everyone at the forum... I've read your threads for the past few days(very informative, funny and some great work) I have little experience with photography, none with an SLR, I took a photography class and it started to consume me. I've learned the basics with a 35 mm (I developed my own film which was fun) So now I'm upgrading...

I was hoping to spend 1K or less on a basic SLR setup(camera and lens)

Portraits... Landscapes... Nature... I think that I've decided on the gear below, but would like feedback/suggestions...

Nikon D40 w/ 18-35mm f/3.5-5.6g
Nikon 55-200 f/4-5.6g
Nikon 50 mm f/1.4D af

All being purchased for 994.00 at adorama.com

I have some cash set aside for accessories(extra battery packs, bag, flash, post editing)... any recommendations for everything else I need would be appreciated.

Thanks ahead of time

Tripod is a definate #1 thing to look into for your type of photos.

In terms of lenses, love a good wide angle lens for landscapes. Your 18-35 is a good start, but 18mm on a D40 is equivalent to 27mm or so on a full frame. Some great nature/landscape shots can be had with something in the 10-22 range. Might be a bit expensive to get a new lens right now, but I'd keep that in mind.

(extra battery packs, bag, flash, post editing)

- If you are doing portraits, a battery grip is always nice. Holding the camera in the vertical position and not twisting your hand around is a good thing. It can hold 2 batteries and take the AA batteries in case you run out. It adds a bit of weight to the camera and if you have bigger hands, it can make it more comfortable.

- I didn't see you mention memory cards. Maybe start with a couple of 4GB cards. Get something with a decent write speed.