Which lenses for weddings...?

JMcDonald

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Im still fairly new to photography and I just purchased a camera and am starting to get my gear together. I have a 28-70mm 2.8-5.6 that came with my Sony A7ii.

What other lenses should I invest in....?

My buddy is selling me his ZEISS 50mm 1.8, so I have that ones coming. Thanks in advance for any help!

The Zeiss is definitely something to watch out for.
In general it depends on the style you want to shoot. If it is shallow depth of focus, I´d go with prime lenses. That is what I do. I´ve moved over from Canon, so I am also looking for new glass.
It is always a question of your budget though.
I love my Batis 25mm f2.0, and my Zeiss 55mm f1.8
I´ve already ordered the Sony 85mm f1.8 for its weight.
AND what I´m totally looking forward to is Sigmas new 135mm f1.8 Art. It´s for Canon, but since I own the Sigma Converter MC-11, I can´t wait to get this lens. As soon as it is available in Europe, I´ll have one.
Shooting with prime lenses isn´t always that easy, but I like blurred backgrounds, so I take the chance.

When it comes to weddings, I really prefer shooting in manual exposure mode. Some other people will prefer aperture-priority or even program mode, and that's okay for them. When you're in lower lighting and at various times getting spotlights or windows (especially stained glass windows, which will catch you by surprise), you need to be really careful about exposure. That's why I prefer manual.

Anyway, the reason for considering the exposure mode with lenses is with constant-aperture vs. variable-aperture lenses. You cited the 28-70/2.8-5.6 lens, which might be the f/3.5-5.6 model...? Sony makes a constant f/2.8 lens that's 28-75mm and another lens that's 24-70mm. When you start zooming in-and-out, your exposure will shift on you, which can be frustrating.