A complete beginner needs suggestions for a lens

Vesanius

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm new to the forums and I just got an old Canon EOS 1000D from a friend of mine. I realize that it's a very old body, but as it cost me pretty much nothing (a nominal 20€) I figured it would be more than enough for me to start this wonderful hobby. The issue I'm having now though is, that I have no clue what kind of lens I should be looking for as the kit lens is obviously not very good. I believe that it's much more important to have a solid lens than have a newer model body for my basic needs and that a lens is a better investment right now. Is that correct?

Since I am just starting, I have no idea what my focus will be, but at this moment it's mostly landscape photographing. My focus might and probably will change once I learn some basics and I figure what interests me the most.

So what kind of lens would you guys suggest me to look for? Something that would be good for a general use and if possible with a decent amount of low light performance. Although I guess anything will be better than the kit lens and will feel like a major upgrade. My financial situation is not the best at the moment so I'm looking for a second hand options and preferably an affordable one.

Thanks for your time to read my post and I'm hoping to hear some suggestions.

Whilst the EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 (kit lens) that typically comes with the 1000D is not an outstanding lens, it is still a very solid performer. It has limitations to be sure, but at your current stage the greater limit is likely going to be operator based than lens based.