absolute noob to photography, but i love it

HTSamurai

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I love B&W stuff, especially faces and cityscapes
so i've two questions

firstly, can you reccomend photographers who do alot or have dabbled in either?

secondly, whats a good camera, preferably under $200, to start out with? i've been using my phone for as long as i can remember, id link my myspace but it might be spam so to be safe i wont.

please and thank you, i really like some of the stuff i've seen on here; which is why i joined this forum as opposed to other photo forums. :mrgreen:

HTSamurai said:
secondly, whats a good camera, preferably under $200, to start out with? i've been using my phone for as long as i can remember, id link my myspace but it might be spam so to be safe i wont.
You get out of a camera what you put in. You can use any camera you want as long as you understand it's limitations and work within those limitation. I have shots from my superzoom Fuji and from my old 2 mp point and shoot that I love.

For $200, any of the available superzoom cameras are nice cameras. They all have the capability of manual controls. They all have through-the-lens viewfinders, but they are electronic and not optical. They all have great range in the focal lengths. They all are nicer to use than a compact because of the size, the viewfinder, and the capability to take a more stable shot over compact because of those reasons. Low light usage is a huge drawback to superzoom cameras. They do not do well in low light because at higher sensitivity (ISO setting), the noise is unacceptable.

Kodak and Fuji are the typical $200 superzooms. Canon and Sony are typically more expensive. I chose my Fuji due to price over Canon and Sony and due to how it felt in my hand over Kodak (the Kodaks are more "cramped" to my fingers.)

None can compare to the flexibility and usability of a dSLR, but you are looking at above $400 for a dSLR.