Advice for a beginner....

EleanorW

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am fairly new to photography, and specifially digital. I've taken 1 small course to get a basic crash course on the essentials and will be joining a local camera club in a few weeks. What else would be of use for me to do to expand my knowledge? I'm just learning to play with my settings... been taking 2 or 3 shots each time, with different settings to see how they turn out.

Best way?

Get out there and shoot... I don't care if it's the plants in your house, your cat, your bike, your carpet, dominos, what have you.

The BEST way is to get experience... Shoot in aperture priority for a day, shoot in shutter priority the next day, change settings, make notes of what you changed if you have to (otherwise it's in the EXIF).

Once you learn and can visualize how shutter speed, aperture and ISO work together then you'll be well on your way. (A book called Understanding Exposure is a great beginner's resource.)

Composition, a good start is learning about the rule of thirds - it's not for every shot - but most shots can be improved with it.

Most importantly, enjoy and have fun - if you get stuck switch to Auto and see what that says you should do. :)

i'm a 3 week old photog myself :p

i'm finding that reading all the stuff on the internet has helped me immensely... i'll read an article on composition, and it links to an article on something else, and on and on

i like looking at these forums, and the ones at digital photography school

it's fun to look at a bunch of pictures that other people take, and see how people critique them

also i been looking at a lot of photos on flickr and such... in the interesting groups...

Best way?

Get out there and shoot... I don't care if it's the plants in your house, your cat, your bike, your carpet, dominos, what have you.