Any way to minimize this sun flare/ haze?

sibebabe

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
You know the story everyone is tired of the entire outing including dad! No help to be found but there is a really neat sign and you just want one shot of the kids together before you leave. So of course it has to be 3pm with sun right at their backs! I did what I could with contrast exposure and clairity, what do you think? Any more ideas? I just love the picture! Of course it had to be with my new lens with no hood also! But I guess don't learn if you don't try! Thanks

Attachments

• $image-272430991.jpg
    $image-272430991.jpg
    134.6 KB · Views: 184
Try bumping the blacks just a pinch.

Next time try moving a little to the right or left so your at an angle to the light and it's not going directly into your lens and you'll have less haze.. You don't need to move much, but it makes a big difference..Does that make sense? I'm not very good at explaining things in writing, but I could show very quickly..:mrgreen: It's a cute image!! :)

Offering no "fix" for this shot, but next time you find yourself shooting into the sun without a shade, try shooting one-handed with your free hand shading the front of the lens. Or get someone else to shade the lens.

Also some fill flash wouldn't hurt either.

Last edited:
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Thanks for the tips for next time. Makes total sense to step just a bit to one side or the other. And using my hand didn't even occur to me! I don't feel like my nikon lens do this as bad and this tamron does it no matter what. I love the advise I get here! Thanks so much!

Lens coatings, which vary by brand and model of lens, can definitely influence how well or how poorly a lens will handle having a bright light source in or near the image frame.

Any chance you have a raw file? Get me access to your full-res version and I can do a much better job.

Joe

$flare.jpg