Aspect Ratio, cropping and printing.....help!

Youngstu

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Ok, to start off I'd just like to say thanks to this forum in general. I knew nothing recently regarding Aspect Ratios but have been reading up on here and have an idea now although I still have some queries.
I've been taking digital photographs now, mostly while travelling for almost 10 years. Not until now have I decided to get to know what I am actually doing.
Sadly my style of photography was point, shoot, dump it onto the PC and forget about it. I am now starting the long task of trying to arrange, back up and print off the photographs to create albums.
I'm no professional and this would show if anyone on here was to have a look at the photographs although as I look back through them I do have a lot of shots which I think are good and they do mean a lot to me.
The cameras across this time have been Canon Powershot A75 (compact), Panasonic Lumix DMC-FX9 (compact) and Panasonic Lumix DMC-GF3 (Micro4/3). After looking at the properties of my photographs and now understanding a little, I know that they have all been taken in 4:3 Aspect Ratio. Here are my queries:-

1. I understand that with all my photos taken in 4:3 the most obvious thing to do would be to print to 6 x 4.5 as a general photo album size as printing to 6 x 4 I would lose some of the image. Would I be better to do this or should I crop some how to convert to 3:2 for 6 x 4 prints. The only thing putting me off printing to 6 x 4.5 is that it seems quite impossible to find any good albums ( Black, dark brown, tan or navy - leather or leather effect). I can't understand this as I thought that 6 x 4.5 printig would be popular these days, maybe I'm wrong.