Auto insurance: do I really need full-coverage?

spiralout

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Lately, I've been thinking that I should change my insurance policy from full-coverage to liability. I'm on my parents insurance, but I'm still paying $200/month, and it's really taking a huge chunk out of my paycheck. I've been driving for 5 1/2 years and have NEVER gotten in an accident and have only gotten 1 speeding ticket, so I'm not a high-risk driver, and I don't see why I should be paying so much for insurance if I'm not even using it. Any thoughts?

I think it all depends on what would happen if your car gets wrecked. Unfortunately even if you get hit by another driver it's possible that they won't be insured and you'll end up having to pay for it. Right now we have two of our cars fully insured and one liability only (we're going to be selling it). The deciding factor for us was what would happen if the car was totaled or required a lot of repair, could we afford it?

Yeah, I'm not sure how much car repair would be, but I've probably already spent well over $5000 more than I would have with just liability. I'm sure I'd have to get in a pretty bad wreck to have to pay that much for repair. That's half what I paid for my car.

That's about it...could you afford to fix it, if you did ding it up? or would it be worth it?

If you are driving a nice vehicle that would cost a lot to fix (if in an accident) or if it's in good condition and could still be sold for a good price...then collision insurance might be a good idea. Think of it as protecting your investment. If you are making payments on it...the insurance is either required or a really good idea.

Typically, I have not had fire/theft/collision on my cars...as they were mostly pieces of junk. When I was younger, I was paying $300 a month (liability only) for insurance on a car that was only worth $300. That really sucked.