Basketball tournament with out strobing

You could try getting a Canon 85mm f1.8. Then borrow another SLR, or rent one. Keep one with your 50 f1.8 on it for closer shots and keep the other with the 85mm on it. Then crank the ISO up to 800. I have never done this type of shooting before, but without the strobes, its my understanding that you are left with two choices, faster glass, or higher ISO.

I shoot NCAA basketball as well. I use ISO - 3200, Shutter Speed - 1/500 for the most part.

Pictures can be viewed on my flickr.

Now, I may be mistaken, but...

Isn't the general focal length/shutter speed rule only for camera shake?

What I'm getting at, is say you have to have 1/250 shutter speed to meet the rule, but if the subject were moving at a speed that could typically be frozen by 1/100 the 1/250 would still freeze the subject. Correct? or would you have to increase the shutter speed because the subject is moving (if albeit somewhat slowly).

Now, I may be mistaken, but...

Isn't the general focal length/shutter speed rule only for camera shake?

What I'm getting at, is say you have to have 1/250 shutter speed to meet the rule, but if the subject were moving at a speed that could typically be frozen by 1/100 the 1/250 would still freeze the subject. Correct? or would you have to increase the shutter speed because the subject is moving (if albeit somewhat slowly).

Its just a good rule of thumb. For instance, stopping action and being as sharp of a shot as you can get, are two different things. Even if you don't have motion blur of your subject, you could have camera shake and the pic looks fine on your 3" LCD but then when you blow it up you realize its a little soft. Atleast thats my take on it.

right, I know the rule of thumb... but that's not what I was asking.

What I was asking is whether the shutter speed/focal length rule accounts only to camera shake, and has no bearings on to whether or not a certain shutter speed freezes a moving subject.