Beginner with a non-beginner question

Belaflek73

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi everyone,

I'm a cosmetic restorative dentist and one of the most difficult things for us to do is a single tooth crown on an upper front tooth. It can be very difficult to match the shade of the adjacent front tooth and even slight deviations are very noticable. To help in shade matching I'd like to use photography to send pictures to the lab I use.

I have a Canon 50D and a macro lens. I usually take my pictures with corresponding shade tabs next to the tooth I want to match. I'm curious if anyone can tell me what sorts of settings/techniques I should use to get the most color accurate photos possible of the teeth I am photographing.

Thanks in advance!

You could cause even more problems if you don't know how to colour manage, if your monitor is not calibrated and then to compound problems more will their monitor is not calibrated the colours could be way off

My dentist uses a coloring matching swatch set. Basically it's like a 50 paint color swatches on a keyring that he matches up with the tooth color.

I would assume, at some point, someone is going to have to select a dye color number. And using a picture to select that dye color number could lead to all sorts of color matching problems.

but then, I'm not a dentist

I think it is going to be quite tricky, if not impossible. The reason is the light variations present everywhere. When you take the pictures in your office, there is one (actually a blend of colors) light, probably the best light there is, but unless the lab is using the exact color of light it's going to be tough.