Best 6x7 medium format camera

Dan1984

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello everyone. I am new to this forum and thought I would say hello. I am very new to medium format and really do not know anything about it. I love to shoot landscape but when I blow up anything from a 35mm camera the pictures do not look as good. I asked around and everyone says go with a medium or large format. Well large format is out of the question but medium seems to be the best solution.

I am asking for help selecting a camera. There is a local shop where I live that has a Pentax 67 with the wooden handle, meter-prism, 55mm and 165mm lens with filters and instruction book for $895. I have no idea if that is a good deal or even if the Pentax 67 is a good camera. My photo 1 instructor has a Pentax 6x7 and loves it which I believe is an earlier model to the 67. Anyway I could really use your help.

Thanks,
Dan

Last edited:
I recently picked up a Mamiya RB67. That thing is a beast. They are built like a tank, so they are usually still in good shape.

From what I remember the Pentax 67 is not a bad camera but it does have some problems. The main one for me is the fact that you can't switch backs. With the RB 67 that Big Mike is talking about or a Hasselblad, you can shoot color, B&W, Polaroid (if you can find any) or digital all in the same shoot by just switching backs.

I used a Hassy myself because 1/ that's the good deal I found when I went looking for a MF camera and 2/ I really like its weight compared to the RB67. As Big Mike says, that thing is a beast and, if it doesn't matter for a lot of studio work, I wouldn't want to be carrying it around all day... :lol:

I think that overall most used MF cameras you will find should bit in good condition because they were used by pros and pros tend to take care of their equipment better. It is their tools after all. Of course they are idiot pros too. :(