C&C please

Jess11

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am a beginner and still trying to figure out the right exposure, and the right lens hahhaha. Many asked me why I use wide angle lens on the pictures below. I guess I try to get as much background in as possible. Maybe its a mistake : |
Camera - canon eos30D
Lens - Sigma 10-20 mm
Location - forest ( rain cloud overhead ) - trying to achive the mysterious look on the pictures below
Pic 1,2 natural light w reflector
Pic 3, 4 , 5 430EXII w softbox on model left
PP at Lightroom
ISO 200, 20mm, f5.6, 1/100

_MG_2182.jpg

_MG_2180.jpg

_MG_2249.jpg

_MG_2244.jpg

_MG_2234.jpg

Last edited:
Anyone?????

I like the color versions much more than the B&W's as they are losing out on the feel of the forest. #1 and #2 are fairly nice especially with the lighting. I don't like tilt on #1. I think you should try finding a way to make her "pop" just a little bit more compared to the background. Could be achieved with some lighting or framing the photos closer to her.

I like 1 & 2, the lighting is really cool. The branches in the front on 3 are distracting and I don't like the B&W in the last 3 I think it looses a lot of detail and she seems to fade in the background. From what I can tell from my iPhone they look sharp and in focus.

Thanks for the comments. I guess i either has to change the lens or get closer to the model which might risk of distortion. I agree that there are alot of distraction in Pic 3. Another down side on using wide angle lens on portrait :

The blocked up shadows are too much. You mentioned trying to get the right exposure. It's not an exposure problem it's a dynamic range problem. When the dynamic range is too extreme a right exposure is not possible.

Joe

While these are quite nice, there are some issues, I think.
Note that in #1, #2 there are bright spots just adjacent to the subject that draw the eye.