Cactus Remote trigger with third party flash?

Zippo85

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am new to flash photography because i've never liked the look of on camera flash. Now im trying to get together a setup for wireless triggering.
I have a Canon Eos 450d (XSi) an i was wondering if the Cactus remote trigger systems would work with this camera and a Sigma EF 530 DG ST?

i havent bought the remote trigger nor the flash yet. But i would rather not pay $150 more just to get a flash that says Canon on the side. if the Sigma flash setup would work.

Bare in mind that i have absolutely no experiense with flash units so this might be a dumb question.

Cheers
Rasmus

They should work with any flash.

In fact, using them with a Canon (or even a dedicated Sigma) flash is sort of a waste because you only have firing control over the flash. All of the automatic E-TTL flash metering that you get when the flash is on the camera, is useless with a radio trigger like this.

Check out THIS KIT...it comes with the flash, the radio triggers, a light stand, umbrella and mounting bracket...basically everything you need to get started.

But if you do want to sometimes use the flash on-camera, with E-TTL, then it would make sense to get a Canon (or dedicated off brand) unit.

According to the manufacturer site

V2s
"Sigma EF-530 DG Super, EF-530 DG ST (for Nikon only), EF-500 DG Super, EF-500 DG ST (for Nikon only), EF-430;"

Link

V4
Sigma EF-530 DG Super, EF-530 DG ST (for Nikon only), EF-500 DG Super, EF-500 DG ST (for Nikon only), EF-430;

Link

Thanks for the fast reply.
So what you are saying is that it will work but it would have to set the settings on the flash manual right?
The reason i want to buy the sigma flash is that it supports TTL and all that. I had a feeling it wouldn't transmit TTL data but i want to be able to use the TTL features if i put it on the camera or via a cable perhaps.