Canon 70-200 f/4 IS vs Canon 70-200 f/2.8 IS

Geotropvs

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Up until now I've been an amateur who enjoys taking pictures as few things in life.

Nowaday I want to stop the hobby and start a being a serious photographer so I can make a profit out of my hobby.

So... now I want to start as an event photographer and I'm wondering how the canon 70-200 f4 IS and canon 70-200 f/2.8 IS compare is real life.

I've read a lot about both of them. Here is what I know:
- F4 is sharper due to being less complex (for its smaller aperture)
- F4 IS can give 4 stops on non-action situations while F2.8 IS can give 3 stops (that makes them even on non-action situations)
- F4 weights 1.5 lbs which is half the 3.2 lbs of the F2.8 and is smaller
- F4 costs $500 less

I've never tried any of them, so I can't tell if f/4 IS would be good enough for weddings and events in artificial light. Can the F/4 IS handle these kind of situations?

I will be shooting with a Canon 50D and would apreciate opinions from someone who has used both and compare, but most important, someone who has tried the F/4 IS for events who want to share experiences.

I live in Nicaragua. I cannot have a look or try any of these two before I buy. Sad but truth, so any help would be really welcome.
tnx in advance

I love Nicaragua. I lived in Managua, and Somoto for a few months.

I'd go for the f4, myself. without IS, to save a little more on weight. should be able to boost your ISO, and use a faster shutter to kill any shake.
to be fair, I shoot nikon. but, the 70-200 f4L on a 5D is hands down, my favorite canon setup.. for weight/feel and IQ.. the f4 is REALLY sharp.

I've shot with both and prefer the f/4 for the compact / lightweight packaging. Two completely different lenses with different purposes; only you can make the determination. The f/4L is very sharp even wide open.