What photo should I enter into a contest

• Total voters

BroMiCs

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey everyone this is my first post!

I am just getting into photography a little bit more serious now. (still just for fun) I have owned a digital camera since 1999 and have taken nearly 50 000 photographs but it wasn't till about a month ago that I finnaly purchased my First DSLR. I am using a Canon T2i (550D) with 18-55mm IS and 55-250mm IS.

I am going to enter a photo contest and I have narrowed it down to two photo's I would like some advice as to which one of these I should enter or if I should enter these at all.

Feel free to make any suggestions for any post processing as well as I am still new to all of this.

Photo 1
PerfectLanding.jpg

Photo 2
ToCloseforComfort.jpg

I honestly do not think that either of these two photos are going to win a contest. A macro lens would help to get a better look at insects and the backside of a bird is not very interesting. I also think that the lighting is horrible. Just my opinion, keep on trying!

Yea, I am gonna save up for a maco lense, but after dumping 1700 bux on this camera (yes I live in canada, things are expensive here) I will have to make do with what I have for now.

I was trying to catch them in the air and the bee wasn't sticking around one flower, I had to follow them around for about half an hour. I ended up taking 50 photo's of the bee ON the flower but they take off and land so fast It was almost impossible to get him flying.

I have to note that its not a proffesional photo contest, its a costco photo contest. I have seen a lot of the photo's that have been submitted and some past winners and nothing has really impressed me