Chromatic Aberation only showing up in HDR shots

zombiemann

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I seem to be having a real issue lately of CA showing up in my HDR shots. The shot I am posting is just for example, not C&C. It was made from 9 exposures (needed elsewhere in the overall shot). I put them together in photomatix, and tone mapped using a fairly "tame" preset. My question is, how can I avoid this? Is it a product of incorrect number of exposures, a possible product of f-stop (needing to shoot "higher" like F8, I normally shoot as low as the lens will go, around 3.5. I'm still learning and didn't know until today that could cause sharpness issues and contribute to CA)? Any ideas or constructive thoughts on what I could do different?

$chromatic.jpg

Is that a crop or something? Unless you're using a magnifying glass as an objective, I don't think that this is CA ...

In any case, CA is affected by aperture, and is probably emphasized by tone mapping - Bynx or VIP would know better. But this seems REALLY extreme. What do your source files look like?

In Photomatix there is a checkbox to address CA. Its usually bad when there is strong light against strong darks. But I did notice the CA glow you had in your night street scene. I wonder how much CA is affected by the lens, the lighting, or the processing. When shooting try to keep your aperture between f8 and f11. If you have your lens wide open I believe that could be a problem with stray light causing problems.

yea this is a crop of an overall shot to show the "bad" areas. I didn't see anything the first time through on the source files, but upon closer inspection it is there... but you have to zoom way in to see it (300% or higher). So I am guessing that it is a product of aperture accentuated by tone maping.