Could I Build a Darkroom in a Storage Shed?

mvocouch

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am not a photographer; I am a writer. I am currently participating a story project with other writers where each writer writes a story about a storage unit in a storage facility.

The character who owns the storage unit is a photographer, and I wanted to see if he may have turned the unit into a dark room. So far I have determined: no. There is no running water, and no ventilation. It just wouldn't be a practical space. But if it is at all possible to get around those problems, the character certainly would, so I wanted to check with some actual photographers.

If all else fails I will simply have the unit be a storage space where he keeps his dark room supplies.

Depends on how elaborate you want. You can have a "darkroom in a bag" if all you want to do is develop film. I had a darkroom in a small closet for awhile, until I could afford to build larger space, and utilized a buckets for water when needed.

maybe you can write it that he just drops it off at the lab *LOL*
i wouldn't use a darkroom with no ventilation or running water.

Yes, while running water is necessary as a final wash for film and prints, one can perform the final wash in a different facility as long as the film/print doesn't dry out. For printing, you will have four trays, one for developer, the second for a stop bath or water rinse, the third for fixer and a fourth for transporting the fixed prints for a final water bath. i.e. Dump the prints into a tray walk outside to a hose, turn on hose, put hose into tray. Viola! A water bath. Film is even easier. The main problem for printing is dumping the liquids from the trays as spillage is easy. But, as this is a storage facility ... who cares ... :cool-48: