Couple o' questions: photoshop actions and website creation

RedWylder

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I need your all's input on a couple of things that have bouncing around my head for a bit.

1. Photoshop actions: I am new to the photoshop world. I've been using Lightroom up until recently and then I took a photoshop workshop and a lot of people were all about their photoshop actions. Are there any that you'd consider a must have or any vendors that are particularly good? Any general thoughts on this would be helpful.

2. I'm beginning the process of building a website which I suck at. A friend of mine suggested using Wix.com but I'm wondering what others have done and liked? I see a lot of nice websites and a lot of cheesy ones so any thoughts would be helpful.

Thanks for any input you have!

Actions are the bread and butter of any decent graphic designer. As a professional you give a quote based on an estimate of how many hours of work it will take you to complete a project, then charge the client that amount. Every hour less you work on the project, is more money you are making essentially because that allows you to spend more time on new projects. If you quote 8 hours, but end up only taking 4 because you have amazing workflow, speed, and other tricks than you just earned yourself 4 extra hours to spend on other projects. Actions can help you save some serious time.

There are actions from vendors that make photos look like cookie cutter images, and I won't suggest buying them at all. They give you a strong base to learn from, however most people end up just using the action out of the box which I do not approve of. You can google actions for photoshop and come up with a bunch of the standards.