D7200 AF points

Coleman121

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi guys,

I've been shooting with my D7200 for a few months now at 9 AF focus points. At the time I didn't think much of it, but now I've come to try and realise what I should be using. I can choose Auto (though I'd never use this of course), 3D, Single AF point, 9, 21, or 51 AF points. Though I understand the basics of this, I never really found out what most people use or what's best to use. I like to shoot different styles, from landscapes, wildlife, close ups, portrait's, sports, etc.

Should I be using single point AF? Do photographers keep their AF area mode on one setting? What do you use?

I switch my AF points to suit what it is I am shooting, a lot of the time I use single point, a rarely use Auto/3D and occasionally use groups. I'm sure there's a section in the Nikon Manuals on AF Modes and examples of what / when they may be beneficial.

Nikon AF Area Modes

I use AF-C and 9pt about 100% of the time, roughly.

Hi guys,

I've been shooting with my D7200 for a few months now at 9 AF focus points. At the time I didn't think much of it, but now I've come to try and realise what I should be using. I can choose Auto (though I'd never use this of course), 3D, Single AF point, 9, 21, or 51 AF points. Though I understand the basics of this, I never really found out what most people use or what's best to use. I like to shoot different styles, from landscapes, wildlife, close ups, portrait's, sports, etc.

Should I be using single point AF? Do photographers keep their AF area mode on one setting? What do you use?

I change depending on what I'm shooting. AF-S for still subjects and AF-C for moving subjects. I don't use AF-A. For still subjects I use a single point, for moving subjects I choose 9, 21, or 51 points depending on how big the subject(s) is(are). I don't use 3D mode.

Last edited:
I use AF-C single or group depending