Digital Photo Professional VS. Lightroom for RAW (and issues I'm encountering)

afliegs

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm in the process of trying to switch from using Digital Photo Professional to Lightroom for my RAW processing.

I really love the extra features that Lightroom has compared to Digital Photo Professional, which is very basic. However, I've run into a few problems that I can't seem to figure out.

Problem 1: When I process my RAW files with Lightroom (and then over to Photoshop), after I save the image - that image looks great and exactly how I want it to on my computer. However, when I email or upload, the photo is extremely desaturated and flat. The photo looks fine on my computer, but somehow it changes when I upload. I assume this is some kind of color space/settings issue, but being that I'm new to RAW processing and Lightroom to Photoshop workflow techniques, I can't seem to figure it out yet.

Problem 2: I've tried to edit a few photos side by side using both RAW editors. When I open up the same RAW file in Lightroom and in Digital Photo Professional, the photos look different. I'm getting a lot of extra noise on the files in Lightroom (and the photos seem a little darker with a little more detail/sharpness). I'm assuming this is because of differences in presets between the two programs? (ie, noise reduction presets in Digital Photo Professional (unsharp mask)). Do both of these RAW editors apply noise reduction and other presets to the RAW files?

Thanks for any comments or help!

Firstly, problem 1 sounds just like a color space issue. Raw files don't have a color space yet. When editing in Lightroom (and I assume DPP) there is very large working color space...but when you export the image and save it as an image file (Jpeg, Tiff, PSD etc.) you will have to choose a color space for the new image file.